Up and Running

I had been toying with the idea of a blog for a few years now. I actually started a few and gave up, so when I came up with the idea of Modernly Homemade, I wanted to try to do it right better. After talking with my husband, Andrew, he really encouraged me to start this.

The idea for Modernly Homemade came while I was eight months pregnant with our daughter, Willa.; I had been seriously considering quitting my job to stay at home and wanted to make sure that I had something to retain my identity. I had big dreams for this blog, then I had a baby. Underestimating how much time and energy goes into caring for an infant, my blogging aspirations went by the wayside.

Fast-forward 15 months and here we are. After several projects: refinishing a rocking horse, knitted scarves, felt food, play kitchen, among others, I wanted a forum where I could share what we are doing with the world. This time I knew that for this to be successful, I needed my better half. Being pretty unfamiliar with WordPress, I checked out some books from the library and have been fiddling around. I am by no means an expert…more like barely proficient, so please bear with me as we embark on the adventure of Modernly Homemade.

Leave a Reply

