Christmas Popcorn

Wow so there were some definite promises in previous posts about posting the progress on Willa’s gifts from Santa…Then we were hit with the plague colds. With a sick Mommy, Daddy, and toddler, there wasn’t much going on at our house except for tea drinking, blowing of noses, and the watching of Disney movies. Ok even the dog was sick…runny nose and nighttime snoring from your dog are almost unbearable when you are sick. We got really behind on our to-do lists and still haven’t finished Willa’s big gift, the play kitchen.

We have completed the felt food (as much as is going to get done), the block food, and the latch board. I would post tutorials now, but they got wrapped before all the photos could be taken…after Santa delivers the gifts, full tutorials will be posted, pending no more sickness infiltrating the house.
Now that I am feeling better, I have had a little time to do some “baking”. Those who know me well, know that I don’t like to measure, which is why I rarely bake, and when I do, it comes from a box. I did, however, bake real cookies NOT from a box. The rest of my holiday baking don’t actually need an oven to create the concoctions. This one is my favorite!

Here is my spin on my mom’s white chocolate chex-mix. I use popcorn instead of cereal.

Christmas Popcorn Recipe

Ingredients:
1/2 cup popcorn kernels
4-5  squares of white chocolate bark
1 tsp. vegetable oil
1/2 bag of holiday M&Ms
Holiday Sprinkles

Directions:
1. Air pop the popcorn. Spread on jelly roll pan and pick out un-popped kernels (no one wants a broken tooth!)
2. Return popcorn to bowl.
3. Heat bark in microwave in 30 second increments, stirring after each 30 seconds. Continue until melted
4. Add 1 tsp. of oil. This helps keep the bark smooth
5. Pour melted bark over popcorn and fold in M&Ms
6. Spread mixture over silicon or parchment lined jelly roll pan
7. Decorate with holiday sprinkles

photo 1
I like to buy extra holiday M&Ms and then separate out the red from the green. Then I have red M&Ms for Valentine’s day and Green for St. Patrick’s day. Trust me, your family will want you to make it this often. It’s great for teacher or co-worker gifts!

One thought on “Christmas Popcorn

Leave a Reply

